Most people would agree that pizza is one of the best foods around, hands down. This is why going vegan can sting a little bit, at least in the beginning. Once you have opted for a plant-based lifestyle, ordering pizza isn’t as easy as it once was.
For one thing, you may not live close to restaurants or cafes serving vegan pizzas. This means that you either have to whip up your own or do without. If you are craving a pizza from your favorite chain restaurant, though, all hope is not lost.
Sure, you may not be able to order the same pizza as when you were an omni, but you can request something just as delicious. Since this does take some creativity and know-how, follow these guidelines:
Check Out Gourmet Pizzerias
If you aren’t keen on a particular fast-food chain, you may want to consider looking into gourmet pizzerias. Understand, these eateries don’t mind getting a little creative. As such, they often have more options when it comes to pizza creations and toppings.
Furthermore, such dining establishments are also more progressive and cater to individuals following a wide variety of diets. Due to this, you may be able to find naturally vegan pizzas. Needless to say, this will take quite a bit of hassle out of the ordering process.
Do Your Due Diligence
In case you are craving a popular fast-food chain, you may need to do a little more digging. Keep in mind that the average employee may not know exactly what goes into the dough or sauces. So, they may not be equipped to let you know whether or not a particular pizza is vegan.
The good news, though, is that with fast-food chains, every branch follows the same recipe. Therefore, it is a good idea to email the corporate office and ask them if any of the dough or sauce contains animal-derived vegan. Or, you can just have them provide you with a list of wholly vegan ingredients.
When in Doubt, Opt for Thin Crust
Most pizza dough tends to be automatically vegan. It is unlikely that the restaurant will use anything other than sugar, yeast, flour, water, and salt. However, there is a chance that some restaurants may use honey in their dough.
If you haven’t had the opportunity to check with the head office, you may want to opt for the thin crust. This is more likely to be completely vegan. Of course, asking questions is the best way to be 100 percent sure about exactly what is going into your food.
Some crusts may come with certain glazes or sauces. If so, make sure to check what they are. They could be made of honey, dairy, or some other animal-derived ingredient. Thus, you may want to specify that you want a plain crust to avoid having these accidentally added onto your dough.
Get Extra Sauce
Naturally, you won’t be getting cheese on your pizza. Making do without cheese on your pizza isn’t so bad. Without the overpowering flavor of cheese, you can appreciate the taste and textures of the ingredients.
Even if you don’t miss cheese on your dough, it can often feel like something is lacking. After all, for a pizza to be truly complete, it needs a good foundation. This is why it is a good idea to ask for extra sauce. Most establishments will double up on the sauce for free.
Of course, you may want to see if there are other sauces available. While marinara sauce is the go-to for most restaurants, you may be pleasantly surprised to learn that there are other options. If possible, go with something that has more flavor or kick to it. This will help you create a more complex pizza.
Get Creative with Veggie Toppings
Now, the most common piece of advice you will hear for vegans is to load up on vegetables. And, yes, this is great news – if you are excited about the veggie toppings, go ahead and order as many as you want.
At the same time, you may want to be more selective as well. Certain pizza places tend to offer rather bland veggie options. Therefore, it is up to you to try and spice things up. Look for vegetables that complement each other in taste. Try to avoid too many bland veggies as these can dilute the overall flavor of the pizza.
If there are various seasoning options like garlic, oregano, and more, go ahead and get these too. Or, create some interesting combinations with onions, jalapenos, and peppers. And, if you don’t find it too controversial, go ahead and throw some pineapple on top for some additional sweetness.
If your favorite pizza place provides little spice sachets, you may want to request a few extra. These, too, can help you elevate the flavor to another level.
Add In Your Own Ingredients
To make it easier to order pizza from your favorite joint, you may want to stock up on some additional toppings. This could include nutritional yeast or some flavorings. You could even get some vegan cheese and add it on top of the pizza – it is up to you to determine how you want to dress up your pizza!
As you can see, it is still possible for you to order your pizza from your favorite places. Yes, it may take a little more planning and research, but it is certainly doable. This is a skill you should master particularly when you first go vegan.
You may just end up finding it a little easier to transition to a plant-based lifestyle. At the very least, knowing how to order vegan pizza from a traditional pizza chain could make you feel less left out when you’re hanging out with your non-vegan friends.
To follow us… Make sure to click on the social media buttons on this page.