Are you Are you unsure the best way to order vegan coffee when you are out and about? If so, here is our guide to ordering vegan at ANY coffee shop.
As you may know, most coffee shops don’t have drinks specifically catered to vegans.
Furthermore, most people have no idea what is going into these coffee – and tea – beverages. Despite this, you don’t have to stay away from mainstream coffee chains. You can still order from there as long as you know how it’s done.
Below, you can find all the tips and tricks to be aware of when ordering coffee:
Start with a Plain Base
Coffee beans are fully vegan.
This means that any plain, unsweetened black coffee drink is automatically vegan. So, if the names of these drinks are confusing, your best bet is to start with black coffee.
The two main terms to remember are espresso and Americano.
An espresso is a small shot of black coffee – it is very strong and not for the faint of heart. An Americano is a diluted version of an espresso –similar to what you get when you brew coffee at home.
An iced Americano is also vegan. It is simply a chilled Americano with lots of ice added to it. You will need to make sure that you know if – and what – sweetener has gone into the drink.
Know Your Non-Dairy Milks
The good news for vegans is that more and more coffee chains are carrying non-dairy milks. The actual choice can vary from one outlet to another. Nevertheless, there is a good chance that you will be able to find soy milk.
Some chains do offer more options such as almond milk, coconut milk, oat milk, and hemp milk. Of course, there is no guarantee of this, so it is always a good idea to call ahead and check.
You should also be aware that each chain can use different brands of non-dairy milk. Thus, there is a chance that the milk may taste a little different from what you are used to. Naturally, this will alter the resulting flavor of the coffee drink as well.
Furthermore, not all plant-based milks work equally well in coffee. As long as you like the taste, soy and oat milk are your best bets. They are easily blended and also have a creaminess that compliments frothy drinks.
Almond milk may be a good option, depending on how you take your milk. Be aware that it can dilute your coffee a bit and may even curdle certain types of coffee.
Hemp, cashew, coconut, and hazelnut may not be your go-to options here. The biggest issue is that the independent flavors of the milks can overpower the natural notes of the coffee. So, if you are someone who enjoys the taste of coffee, you may be missing out.
At the end of the day, it is all down to your personal taste. If you have a favorite plant-based milk and like how it tastes in your coffee, go ahead and request it.
Beware of Sweeteners and Sauces
Some coffee shops use sugar to sweeten their drinks, while others rely on syrups. Some may rely on honey. Thus, it is a good idea to always check what kind of sweetener is being used.
For the most part, clear syrups are vegan. This means that simple, vanilla, cinnamon, hazelnut, and other syrups are safe to add to your drink. If you do notice a label on the syrup bottles being used, a quick online search will give you more information about their ingredients.
Sauces, on the other hand, aren’t suitable for vegans. This is because most of them contain dairy. Some mocha sauces may be dairy-free and vegan, but this may depend on the brand. So, once again, a little research may be in order.
Know the Components of a Drink
Coffee drinks are more complicated than ever before. And, there often seems to be a new signature drink every week. Thus, even if you are an experienced coffee drinker, it can be difficult to know exactly what is going into these concoctions.
If you would like to try out these beverages, always check what is going into the drink. This will help you identify any non-vegan ingredients and omit them. You may also want to ask additional questions such as whether or not a drink contains chocolate sauce, honey, cream, whipped cream, and so on.
Keep in mind, most people may not be aware that vegans can’t consume these products. As such, they may not think to mention them to you.
Put Your Own Creative Spin
If you want a tasty coffee drink but don’t want to go through the hassle of listening to your barista recite the ingredients, there is another option. You can mix and match various ingredients to come up with your own delicious treat.
You don’t have to be completely original either. There are plenty of other vegans – on social media or blogs – that will give you some wonderful vegan coffee drink orders. So, it is certainly worth it for you to check these out and pick up some tips.
Going the Extra Mile
Do you want a cup of coffee that is totally guilt-free? Then you may want to ask about where the coffee beans come from. Remember, coffee is a big business. As such, some of the bigger brands may clear away rainforests or other large plots of land, destroying habitats and food sources.
If you don’t want this weighing on your conscience, stick with brands that offer eco-friendly coffee beans. Since these are grown with greater care, there is a good chance that your coffee may end up tasting a lot better as well.
These are all the ways you can ensure that your coffee is both vegan and cruelty-free. Thus, keep these tips in mind the next time you go to a coffee shop and order a coffee. You don’t have to give up going to coffee chains just because you’re a vegan!
If you like this blog post on “Are You Getting The Necessary Nutrients On A Vegan Diet?“, make sure to check out our other post on our blog. We also have recipes as well over on our Food & Recipe tab!
To follow us… Make sure to click on the social media buttons on this page.