If you’re like most kids, then you probably grew up eating gummies. And, just because you’re older doesn’t mean you need to outgrow these delicious candies. Unfortunately, most commercially available gummies don’t fit in with the vegan diet, so we wanted to share our favorite vegan candy with you.
A lot of candy unfortunately isn’t vegan, because it tends to contain gelatin that is typically derived from cows. As such, they are off-limits. The good news for you, however, is that you don’t have to give your favorite treat just because you are vegan!
Several brands offer vegan, gelatin-free alternatives. To determine what the best ones are, check out this list below of our favorite vegan candy:
Annie’s Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks
These gummies have been specially designed to be vegan and they are organic to boot! One of the top advantages of these gummies is that they are pretty healthy. The gummies are made from real fruit juice and contain all the vitamin C that you need for a single day.
There are no artificial colors or flavors. Best of all, these gummies don’t contain high fructose corn syrup either. So, if you are looking for a yummy yet healthier treat, this is certainly the brand for you. As an additional bonus, there are only 70 calories in every pouch of gummies.
Luehders Red Berries Gummies
These gummies have been purposefully created to cater to vegan consumers. There is absolutely no gelatin in this formula. The manufacturer has also taken steps to ensure that the gummies are free from artificial colorings and flavorings as well.
The flavorings come from natural fruit juice so you can guarantee that they have a more authentic taste. The texture is nice, soft, and gummy-like. So, if you are looking for something as close to what you used to eat, this is a great option.
Sour Viking Candies
If you are raising your kids vegan, you can be sure that they will love these. For one thing, they come in fun and interesting Viking shapes. You will also be happy to learn that they don’t contain high fructose corn syrup or trans fats.
Instead, the gummies contain fruit juice concentrates to flavor the gummies. So, when your little one does pucker up from the sour flavor, you can be sure that it is a good thing. The company even uses natural extracts to color the gummies, ensuring there are no harmful dyes or colorings in it.
Organic Gummy Cubs
These gummies are organic, kosher, and vegan. So, they tick a whole lot of boxes. Furthermore, this brand goes to a lot of trouble to ensure that no unhealthy ingredients find their way into your gummies. In fact, these gummies contain a good dose of vitamin C.
Despite all this goodness, the gummy bears are pretty tasty. These do have an interesting texture – they aren’t quite as hard as regular gummies and are a bit softer. But, this does add to the experience of eating these delicious treats. Thus, it works equally well for kids and adults alike!
Surf Sweets Gummy Bears
This is yet another gummy brand that takes care to eliminate gelatin from its ingredient list. This is actually a good option if you or anyone in your family suffers from allergies. The company has gone to extra lengths to make it safe for allergy sufferers. Thus, you can enjoy these gummies with peace of mind.
This also makes these gummies suitable for anyone serious about their veganism. If you try to steer clear of foods that are processed in facilities that also process eggs or dairy, this is the brand for you. As an added bonus, one percent of the sales of these gummies go towards eco-friendly charities. So, you will be helping to make a difference too!
Smart Sweets Sour Blast Buddies
There is no denying that vegan candy can be rather heavily calorie-laden. So, if you are trying to watch your calories, it can be a bit difficult to do this and indulge in gummy candies. Fortunately for you, these Smart Sweets offer up the best of both worlds. Instead of using traditional sugar, they sweeten the gummies with low-calorie Stevia.
As a result, you are only consuming 80 calories per bag! You will also be pleased to learn that there are no artificial ingredients in the gummies either. There is one thing you should be aware of, however. This company isn’t vegan and the Sour Blast Buddies are one of the only gummies without any gelatin in them. Due to this, you do need to be careful about which type of gummies you end up buying.
Traders Joe’s Scandinavian Swimmers
These may not be the healthiest vegan candy around, but they don’t contain gelatin and are pretty tasty too. At the same time, the company has taken care to avoid using artificial flavorings and coloring, so it isn’t all bad. These are pretty fun for younger kids to eat as they come in the shape of various marine animals.
These gummies are higher in calories so be careful about how many you consume. It is best to stick with the recommended serving size, just to be on the safe side. The gummies are gluten-free as well.
So, there you have it – the best possible vegan gummies on the market. These are sure to satisfy any sugar cravings you might have had since you went vegan.
It should be noted that not all the brands mentioned here are vegan, however. As such, there is a chance that some of these formulas may change in the future. This is why you should always do your research and check the ingredient list ahead of time.
Don’t just watch out for gelatin though. See if any other ingredients that may be considered non-vegan are present. Oh, and if you are especially serious about your cruelty-free diet, then watch out for how the gummies are processed as well. This is quite important if you have allergies. Some of the gummies may be processed in the same places as milk, eggs, or tree nuts.
This isn’t an ideal environment, as you know.
To follow us… Make sure to click on the social media buttons on this page.