A bakery can be a magical place filled with the most delightful aromas and sights. However, once you have gone vegan, you may wonder what they can offer you in keeping with your new lifestyle. But more likely than not, there are almost always some vegan baked goods that they offer.
Well, since bakeries do have a wide variety of baked goods, this isn’t a straightforward question. So, let’s take a look at some of the more common questions about vegan baked goods!
Is All Bread Vegan?
As you are probably aware, most types of bread are vegan. They typically contain flour, yeast, water, salt, and vegetable oil. As such, you should have no trouble enjoying them. That being said, this doesn’t mean that all types of bread are automatically vegan.
The types that should be safest to eat include:
- Ezekiel bread
- French bread
- Kosher bread
Nevertheless, it is always a good idea to double-check the ingredients. On rare occasions, some bakers may slip in milk, butter, or eggs into their recipes.
As a rule of thumb, most flatbreads (apart from naan) and savory breads should be vegan. It is with sweetbreads that you need to be more careful. Breads like brioche and challah will contain either dairy or eggs, guaranteed.
Are Bagels Vegan?
If you are buying bagged or frozen bagels, it is easy enough to check the ingredients to determine if the bagels are truly vegan. In case you are buying the fresh variety, though, you may need to be more careful. Fortunately, like bread, most bagels are vegan. Of course, it can’t hurt to double-check.
What you need to look out for are any additions to the bagel. This includes ingredients added to or on top of the bagel. This includes grated cheese, cream cheese, and honey. In most cases, taking a close look or simply asking the store owner will help you know what it contains.
Are Donuts Vegan?
Well, here’s some sad news – donuts can contain both eggs as well as milk! So, unless your local bakery serves vegan donuts, you will need to step away. As a double whammy, many of the frostings and toppings on your donut tend to contain some form of dairy as well.
Fortunately, there are a few vegan donut shops available so you can enjoy your favorite treat. Or, you can whip up a batch at home. If you want to make things even healthier, you can even make baked donuts.
Are Cinnamon Rolls Vegan?
As heartbreaking as it is, most cinnamon rolls aren’t vegan. They contain milk, eggs, and butter. Furthermore, the drizzle is either made with milk or contains cream cheese. As such, bakery cinnamon rolls will be off the menu for you. The silver lining is that there are plenty of vegan recipes available for you. You may also be able to find frozen versions that don’t contain any animal-derived products.
Are Scones Vegan?
Although it may not necessarily seem like it, scones do contain both eggs and dairy products. This can often include milk, butter, buttermilk, cream, and more. So, if you do come across scones in your bakery, you will need to give it a miss.
Are Danishes Vegan?
There is some variation in how Danishes are made. Nevertheless, they typically contain milk, eggs, butter, or similar ingredients. Furthermore, the custard on top of some Danishes is made from both milk and eggs. Once again, however, you can make your own vegan version if you are unable to find what you are looking for in vegan bakeries.
Are Croissants Vegan?
Croissants don’t just smell and taste buttery – they also contain a significant amount of butter! Thus, they automatically become off-limits to vegans. Before you get too disappointed, though, you may be able to find a decent substitute. Many popular frozen canned croissants (or crescents) are free of any kind of dairy or egg. So, they could do in a pinch.
Eggless Doesn’t Mean Vegan
These days, you find cakes and pastries that claim to be egg-free or eggless. Before you jump for joy at though, be aware that they may not automatically be vegan. All this means is that the recipe doesn’t contain any eggs.
Nevertheless, it is still possible for the food item to contain dairy or another animal-derived ingredient. Thus, you will need to read the label or ask a slew of questions to determine just what has gone into that particular food item.
How to Buy Vegan Baked Goods from Bakeries
Just because you are vegan doesn’t mean you have to give up on your local bakery altogether. Instead, you simply have to do a little research into ingredients before picking up a treat. If you aren’t sure, it is important to look them up.
Chatting with the people serving you can help. However, keep in mind that they don’t make the food. Thus, they may have no idea as to what the ingredients may be. Due to this, it is a good idea to do your own research.
If you have a local, family-owned bakery, it may be possible to put in your requests for vegan foods. These days, more and more bakers have started making adjustments to suit various diets. So, there is a good chance that this arrangement could work out for you.
Talk to your baker about what a vegan diet means and advise them on various substitutions. Making this effort will ensure that only plant-based or vegan products will be used. You can even provide them with a specific recipe and ask them to make a batch of baked goods just the way you want.
This is what you need to know about buying vegan baked goods at a traditional bakery. Sure, you may need to brush up on your cooking knowledge, but it will certainly come in handy. At the very least, you will still be able to shop at a bakery that you greatly enjoy.
To follow us… Make sure to click on the social media buttons on this page.